Stan Thompson

Click Here to download a 1' X 4' Poster file

Element Trainer

Home Search Contents Periodic Tables

Memorial Symposium


Click here to learn more about this remarkable scientist.
Stan Thompson

Doctoral Dissertation ] [ ACS Award 1966 ] Nobel Prize ] SciFi  Author ] Famous B-Days ]

ACS Award for Nuclear Chemistry

Sponsored by the ACS Division of Nuclear Chemistry and Technology.

Purpose: To recognize and encourage research in nuclear and radiochemistry or their applications.

Nature: The award consists of $3,000 and a certificate. Traveling expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be paid.

Establishment and Support: The award is currently financed by the ACS Division of Nuclear Chemistry and Technology. The award was supported by funds from a gift to the Society by an anonymous donor during 199091 and in odd-numbered years from 198085; the award was sponsored by EG&G ORTEC during the intervening even-numbered years. Sponsorship was assumed by Amersham Corporation for 198689. A predecessor award, the ACS Award for Nuclear Applications in Chemistry, was established in 1953 by Nuclear-Chicago Corporation, a subsidiary of G. D. Searle & Co.

Rules of Eligibility: A nominee must have made outstanding contributions to nuclear or radiochemistry or to their applications. There are no limits on age or on nationality.


1955 - Henry Taube  1956 - Willard F. Libby  1957 - Melvin Calvin  1958 - Jacob Bigeleisen  1959 - John E. Willard  1960 - Charles D. Coryell  1961 - Joseph J. Katz  1962 - Truman P. Kohman  1963 - Martin D. Kamen  1964 - Isadore Perlman  1965 - Stanley G. Thompson  1966 - Arthur C. Wahl  1967 - Gerhart Friedlander  1968 - Richard L. Wolfgang  1969 - George E. Boyd  1970 - Paul R. Fields  1971 - Alfred P. Wolf  1972 - Anthony Turkevich  1973 - Albert Ghiorso  1974 - Lawrence E. Glendenin  1975 - John R. Huizenga  1976 - John O. Rasmussen 1977 - Glen E. Gordon  1978 - Paul K. Kuroda  1979 - Raymond Davis, Jr.  1980 - Arthur M. Poskanzer  1981 - Robert Vandenbosch  1982 - Leo Yaffe  1983 - Darleane C. Hoffman  1984 - Joseph Cerny  1985 - Gregory R. Choppin  1986 - Victor E. Viola  1987 - Ellis P. Steinberg  1988 - Guenter Herrmann  1989 - Ronald D. Macfarlane  1990 - Michael J. Welch  1991 - John M. Alexander  1992 - Robert N. Clayton  1993 - Richard M. Diamond  1994 - E. Kenneth Hulet  1995 - Joseph B. Natowitz  1996 - William D. Ehmann  1997 - Peter J. Armbruster Canvassing Committee Chair:

Dr. Joseph R. Peterson

Chairman, Canvassing Committee
The University of Tennessee
College of Liberal Arts
Dept. Of Chemistry
552 Buehler Hall
Knoxville, TN 37996-1600
Telephone: (615) 974-3434

Top of the Page <chemistry.html>




Home ] Up ] Search ] Contents ] Periodic Tables ]
Mild Introduction ] Chemist's Chemist ] Manhattan Project ] Seaborg's Journals ] Unexpurgated ] Photo Gallery ] T Shirts ] Links ] Swan Song ]

The Internet is a wonderful vanity press. It is a bully pulpit that costs the author of a website almost nothing. Therefore, it falls on the reader to exercise increased vigilence while browsing websites because the the layers of "editors" and "publishers" have been removed from the information transfer process and so that anybody can say most anything without regard for the facts or truth. This website is no exception. For that reason, I have tried to provide copies of enough of the original materials so that the reader can make his or her own interpretations of the source documents that led me to the conclusions expressed here. 

Last Edited 07/21/15 --Comments to Webmaster